You are currently viewing Historical Landmarks

Historical Landmarks

The history of the country had been strongly marked by the Al Moravides “epopee” (Xth century) which has brought tremendous changes to the society and the culture of the future Mauritania. The country had been competed by Portugues (XVth century), Germans, Dutch, British and French (XVII and XVIIIth centuries).

In 1855: start of the colonization which has lead to cultural rejection and to an armed resistance.

In 1903: Mauritania has been called « protoctorat des pays maure »

In 1904: Mauritania became civil territory

In 1905: the administrator Xavier Coppolani was assassinated in Tidjikja (centre east)

In 1920: Mauritania declared French colony.

The resistance had led to numerous battles:

“ Oumtounsi”(about 60 km northward of Nouakchott ) which led to Lt. Mc Mahon to death.

Other resistant took weapons against the French colonization in the north and centre of the country and Along Valley of Senegal River.

In 1934: End of the armed resistance.

In 1945: Mauritania declared « Territoire d’Outre-Mer » of the France.

In 1957: Mauritania adopted the « loi Deferre ».

In 1958: The Islamic Republic of Mauritania gained the intern autonomy.

In 1960: on 28th November, Mauritania obtains full National Independence from France. Administratively, Mauritania is organized into 15 wilayas (provinces) and 55 moughataas.


July 20th, 1991, adoption by referendum of a democratic and liberal constitution in the country

July 25th, 1991, Proclamation of pluralism regulations and, freedom of press and Association.

In 1992 – Election of the parliament (Assembly and Senate)

In 2017 – Suppression of the Senate

Today all the remaining institutions work properly to guarantee stability , civil peace and sustainable freedom necessary for lasting economic , social and political development.